Réduire le time-to-market
grâce à la méthode Obeya

EvTech draft without details

Comment la Digital Factory de la SNCF a réduit le time-to-market en mettant en place une salle Obeya virtuelle transverse aux entités du groupe

Filiale qui rassemble l’expertise digitale du groupe SNCF, e.Voyageurs SNCF compte environ 1 500 employés, dont plus de 1 000 experts tech, à travers la France. Sa mission principale est de faciliter l’accès aux services par les usagers et, de façon plus générale, d’améliorer l’intégralité de leur expérience tout au long du parcours client.

Projet phare d’e.Voyageurs SNCF, le lancement à venir de SNCF Connect doit réunir, au sein d’une même interface, tous les services de mobilité proposés par la SNCF : TGV INOUI, OUIGO, Intercités, TER, Thalys, Eurostar, TGV Lyria, les transports publics en Ile-de-France dont Transilien, les bus longue distance, et le covoiturage. L’application doit également intégrer des offres de mobilités propres et partagées (covoiturage, vélo, trottinette, transport urbain, taxi et VTC).

Les entités du groupe ont la nécessité de réussir à collaborer entre elles de façon Agile. Pour répondre à cet immense challenge, en tant que responsable de la guilde Agile au sein de la Digital Factory de la SNCF, Mohamed Moussa est chargé de l’amélioration continue de l’organisation, du suivi et du pilotage des activités liées à la Factory.

EvTech draft without details

“Je souhaitais créer une source unique d’information pour susciter une compréhension commune des problèmes”

La Digital Factory a des clients internes, notamment les entités TER et Transilien du groupe. Le processus de collaboration historique était le suivant : les métiers émettaient des besoins, qui étaient affinés par les équipes de maîtrise d’ouvrage, puis les équipes de maîtrise d'œuvre chiffraient le besoin, validaient le budget avec les métiers, et implémentaient la solution.

A chaque étape d’un projet, différents acteurs étaient concernés, dispersés dans plusieurs entités et sur plusieurs sites, et qui avaient chacun leur propre source d’information. “Un projet pouvait durer des mois”, avait remarqué Mohamed, “chaque partie concernée devant attendre que l’autre ait achevé et fait valider sa part du travail”. Dans un tel contexte, il était très difficile de développer de nouvelles solutions de façon Agile.

Constatant les difficultés opérationnelles causées par un tel fonctionnement, Mohamed a imaginé la mise en place d’une salle Obeya virtuelle, commune à toutes les parties prenantes concernées : “Je souhaitais créer une source unique d’information pour susciter une compréhension commune des problèmes”.

EvTech draft with details

“L’Obeya virtuelle a permis de réduire le time-to-market de façon significative"

Pour Mohamed, la première étape a été d’effectuer l’état des lieux de l’information utilisée, puis de rationaliser les supports. Ensuite, il a identifié toutes les personnes impliquées dans la réalisation d’un projet. Mohamed a relevé deux types de profils principaux : les acteurs impliqués dans la construction et la mise à jour des outils de suivi, et les spectateurs qui sont seulement amenés à consulter l’information pour alimenter leur processus de prise de décision.

“Je voulais casser les silos, éliminer les intermédiaires et éviter la double-saisie”, souligne Mohamed. “L’Obeya doit permettre de savoir ce qui se passe à chaque étape du projet, avec une vue macro et des vues détaillées en fonction des utilisateurs”. Pour ce faire, Mohamed a démocratisé l’utilisation de l’add-on Jira Roadmunk, qui permet de visualiser, sous forme de roadmap, les données projet contenues dans Jira.

Souhaitant répliquer dans le monde numérique l’expérience du monde physique, Mohamed a créé un Obeya virtuel composé de quatre murs : un mur TER, pour suivre les échanges avec cette entité, un mur Transilien, un mur Factory, pour piloter le travail des équipes en interne, et un mur d’Amélioration continue. Cette salle offre la possibilité de consulter toutes les roadmaps, depuis un même endroit, que ce soit celles des projets ou de chacune des équipes de développement.

A ce titre, Mohamed souligne l’importance de la navigation dans l’Obeya virtuel : “les collaborateurs doivent pouvoir aisément se balader de mur en mur pour trouver et consulter l’information qui les intéresse”. Plus besoin de créer des comptes Jira pour chacun des acteurs concernés ; l’information, mise à jour en temps réel, est accessible partout et tout le temps. “Un management visuel performant doit aider à identifier les écueils à venir”, ajoute Mohamed.”

Depuis cette salle virtuelle, les parties prenantes peuvent consulter les roadmaps et les documents partagés relatifs à chacune des phases du projet. “Tous les acteurs disposent d’un niveau d’information pertinent en amont, ils peuvent ainsi anticiper les besoins, et ajuster l’organisation et les moyens en conséquence. En résumé, l’Obeya virtuelle a permis de réduire le time-to-market de façon significative".

Démocratiser l’utilisation de l’Obeya dans le groupe

Même si l’Obeya sert désormais de support de réunion dans toutes les réunions stratégiques, Mohamed veut aller plus loin et mieux intégrer les métiers dans le processus de développement Agile qu’il souhaite mettre en place. En effet, l’origination et le façonnement des besoins restent encore, en partie, un aspect peu couvert par le management visuel aujourd’hui.

Aussi, Mohamed désirerait pouvoir suivre le trafic de l’Obeya virtuel pour comprendre qui utilise quoi, une fonctionnalité qui aurait toute sa place sur Draft. Elle l’aiderait à améliorer les murs et à mieux accompagner les équipes moins enclines à faire évoluer leurs habitudes de travail.

Venant s’ajouter à l’animation d’ateliers de conception et d’affinage de besoin, d’impact mapping, de rétrospectives et de user story mapping, la création d’une salle Obeya virtuelle vient compléter de façon particulièrement pertinente la liste des scénarios d’utilisation pour lesquels Draft est utilisé au sein de la Digital Factory de la SNCF.

Créez votre premier draft dès aujourd’hui
Démarrez dès aujourd'hui avec notre Plan Gratuit.
Démarrez dès aujourd'hui avec notre Plan Gratuit.

Reduce Time-to-Market
with the Obeya Method

EvTech draft without details

How the SNCF Digital Factory used a virtual Obeya room to reduce the time-to-market for a major group-wide digital initiative

e.Voyageurs SNCF, a subsidiary of the French state-run rail network, is a team of roughly 1,500 employees—of which 1,000 are tech experts—responsible for guiding the SNCF group’s digital initiatives. Its primary mission is to make it easier for customers to access SNCF services by making incremental improvements to the digital customer journey.

The upcoming launch of “SNCF Connect,” a flagship project of e.Voyageurs SNCF, will soon unify all the group’s mobility services under a single interface. This includes services for SNCF: TGV INOUI, OUIGO, Intercités, TER, Thalys, Eurostar, TGV Lyria, and public transport in the Ile-de-France region (i.e. Transilien, long-distance buses, and carpooling)—as well as other sustainable or shared mobility options (i.e. bikes, scooters, boats, shuttles, trams, taxis, VTC, etc.).

Agile collaboration across all of these SNCF business units has been essential for making this initiative come to fruition. In fact, this has been the key focus for Mohamed Moussa, Scrum Master and Agile Coach for the SNCF Digital Factory—the person who is ultimately responsible for ensuring the successful follow-through of all Factory-related activities.

“I knew I needed to establish a single source of information to create shared understanding around our project-related issues.”

EvTech draft without details

In the past, collaborating with “internal customers”— business units like TER and Transilien—looked something like this:

This required different stakeholders—dispersed across different business units and various office locations—to be involved at each stage of a given project’s lifecycle. As a result, each stakeholder typically had different sources of information to rely on to guide the decision-making and approval process. “A project could easily take months to complete,” Mohamed explained. “Each stakeholder involved would sometimes have to wait for others to complete their part of the process” before the work could advance. This made it incredibly difficult to develop and implement digital solutions in a truly effective, Agile way.

These operational difficulties gave Mohamed the idea of establishing a virtual Obeya room to centralize information across all stakeholders: “I knew I needed to establish a single source of information to create shared understanding around key project-related issues.”

EvTech draft with details

“The virtual Obeya has helped to reduce our time-to-market significantly."

As a starting point, Mohamed had to take stock of all of the information swirling around in order to justify using the Obeya method. Then it was a matter of identifying all of the individual stakeholders who would be involved in carrying out the project in any capacity.

He ultimately identified two primary types of stakeholders: 1) the “actors,” who were directly involved in building the solutions and 2) the “spectators,” who were brought into the process for consultative purposes to drive decision-making.

“I wanted to break down silos, eliminate intermediaries, and avoid duplicative work,” underscored Mohamed. “The Obeya method allows you to know what’s happening at each stage of a project, offering both macro and detailed views of a project’s status based on the level of information needed by different project stakeholders.” To facilitate this, Mohamed got approval to use the Jira Roadmunk add-on to visualize project data in Jira as a roadmap.

And because these project teams are often dispersed across multiple locations, Mohamed had the extra challenge of replicating the more typical Obeya experience in the physical world to work effectively in the digital world as well. To do this, he created a virtual Obeya room in Draft made up of four walls to both keep track of communications across different business units and also to better manage his internal team’s work:

  1. TER wall
  2. Transilien wall
  3. Digital Factory wall
  4. Continuous Improvement wall

This gave all teams a single “source of truth” for accessing project roadmaps all in one place, whether they were developed by project management or development teams.

To make this effective and useful for all involved, Mohamed emphasized the importance of making the virtual Obeya room easy to navigate: “Team members must be able to ‘walk’ from wall to wall to find the information they need easily.” The big benefit here is that it was no longer necessary to create Jira accounts for each “actor” involved in the process. All information—updated in real-time—was readily accessible to everyone at all times. “Effective visual management will help us identify and avoid future pitfalls,” expressed Mohamed.

From within the virtual Obeya room, all project stakeholders can access the roadmaps and other shared documents for every aspect of a given project—from start to finish. “Everyone has access to the relevant level of information upstream to anticipate needs better and adjust resources accordingly,” added Mohamed. “In other words, the virtual Obeya has helped to reduce our time-to-market significantly.”

Promoting widespread use of the virtual Obeya room across the SNCF Group

Even if the virtual Obeya is now being used to support all of the SNCF Digital Factory’s strategic meetings, Mohamed would like to take it even further, with the end goal being the integration of all business units into the Agile development process. And while there’s still some work to do before this will be possible, visual project management—in the form of the virtual Obeya room—is getting him one step closer to achieving this goal.

Mohamed is also interested in gleaning more insights from the virtual Obeya room to have a clearer understanding of who’s visiting it, what they are visiting it for, and what other features might be valuable to improve the walls themselves and also support the needs of teams and stakeholders who are less inclined to change their work habits (to Agile).

Finally, in addition to using Draft for facilitating workshops for designing and refining project needs, impact mapping, user story mapping, and retrospectives, the creation of the virtual Obeya room is yet another way Draft continues to support the SNCF Digital Factory team in running its projects more effectively.

Start your first draft today!
Sign up for a Free Plan.
Sign up for a Free Plan.